(Topic ID: 154765)

Atari Superman switch and coil issues (generation 2 boards)

By Pin-up

8 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 28 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by frunch
  • Topic is favorited by 5 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

image_(resized).jpeg
IMG_20160322_210638295_(resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Pin-up.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 8 years ago

Picked up a Superman recently as I've never worked on an Atari game before. Game powers on and boots up. New game is started and plays through the game as it should, but there are some coil and switch issues I'm trying to figure out.

First, as a matter of standard procedure with ALL early solid state pins, I removed all circuit boards, re-flowed all connectors, cleaned connector pins, removed all socket chips, cleaned the chip legs, and reinstalled, making sure all connectors and ground wires were re-installed properly as well. There is no acid damage what so ever on any of the boards as they look pristine. New batteries installed as well.

Now that we have good solid connections everywhere and no cold solder joints, I can see where things stand.
Unfortunately, none of that work made any change good or bad to this game. I've had so many bally/williams games turn out to be 100% working after doing those procedures, with the exception of some burnt out bulbs, that I just do it on all early solid state games before I bother trying to hunt down "issues".

Game boots up and plays. Put the game in test mode, displays are all good, lamps are all good after replacing a pair of bad sockets and replacing some burnt out bulbs. I ended up just putting new 47's in the entire game since the ones that did work were pretty dirty and old.

SOLENOID ISSUES: