• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_6108 (resized).JPG
image5.JPG

#1 6 years ago

Hey guys,

So my fiance (and also myself) are looking into purchasing a used Sunfish. She's learning to sail, and I have some experience already. We've been perusing craigslist and other classifieds, but haven't really found any that have looked like a good enough value. I've read through some sailing forums, and a buyers guide or two, but honestly, it all seems really dense, and I really don't want to get burned when buying one.

Does anyone have words of advice, general tips, or things to look out for when buying one? Perhaps one you're willing to sell reasonably? (I don't want to turn this into a wanted ad, but I figured I'd ask anyway).

I appreciate the help!

-Max

#2 6 years ago

Basic advice is somewhat similar to pinball machines. Check the rigging and sails (depending on where they've been stored-sails could have rodent damage/lines & tackle could have mold or fraying) check the haul for soft spots or fiberglass patches/half ass repair jobs. I would also be concerned about UV damage, salt corrosion, the hardware being in decent condition/present. These things were usually stored outside, rode hard and put away wet. Sunfishes have been around since the 1950s, but I assume you are looking at the later fiberglass ones. Are you planning on sailing together or individually and what sort provisions do you have for transport/storage (are you waterfront or keeping it on a dock or beach?) is it cartop only or trailer? What's your price point? I've always been partial to Lasers, but you can really open it up with a slightly larger boat like a Flying J or 420. Hope this helps-fair winds and following seas.

#3 6 years ago