(Topic ID: 356570)

Any long time cigarette smokers, that stopped?

By BubbaPin

64 days ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 47 posts
  • 32 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 60 days ago by fnosm
  • Topic is favorited by 5 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Screenshot_20240520_054929_Facebook (resized).jpg
    IMG_0571 (resized).jpeg
    IMG_7152 (resized).jpeg
    #1 64 days ago

Hi all, I'm 32 and have been smoking since I was 15. I have been smoking a pack to 2 packs a day for ten years straight.

I'm just curious, if you have been able to stop. What did you do? And what do ya do to keep up with it.

#2 64 days ago

Imo it’s too fookin hard to go cold turkey. Nicotine gum made it possible for me. I think the gum comes with a suggested schedule of gradually cutting down smoking and then when to start the gum. Anyway, weaning off is the key. However you can make that work. Replace the physical part of habit with suckers, toothpicks, whatever. Keep that going until the nicotine addiction is under control then wean off that too. Don’t try to stop both those aspects at once. It’s really a two part habit.

I “quit” years ago but still relapse occasionally, usually after drinking. But it hasn’t come back as a full habit. It’s a bitch and you’ll never totally get over it. Be kind to yourself and forgive yourself if you mess up. Just try to do better each time. You’re young enough where you can totally heal in a few years (so they say).

#3 64 days ago
    Quoted from BubbaPin:

Hi all, I'm 32 and have been smoking since I was 15. I have been smoking a pack to 2 packs a day for ten years straight.
    I'm just curious, if you have been able to stop. What did you do? And what do ya do to keep up with it.

Similar boat, just in my next chapter from you. Hear me out. Probably one of the most personal posts I'll have on this site.