(Topic ID: 206862)

Another Black Knight speech issue thread...

By dzorbas

6 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by Schwaggs
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

#1 6 years ago

Folks,

Looking for a bit of help on this. I've tried to search and read every other BK speech issue thread I can find and still am not sure what to try next. I will readily admit I'm no expert here but am pretty good at basic troubleshooting and following instructions.

I acquired a BK that needs plenty of TLC. The game mostly works but I have never had any speech. I get the rest of the sound effects during game play but no speech. I get sound effects when I use the diagnostic tests (using the coin door switches) but again no speech.

When I use the diagnostic test on the sound board I get three sounds which loop. In other threads guys are asking if there is a pause before the sounds repeat. My game just keeps looping continuously without a pause.

I have tried to follow the thread that cody_chunn started - https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/black-knight-sound-board-repair. All the cables are fine, the jumpers are set properly, I've reseated all the ROMs, I've checked continuity from the ROM legs to the solder pads on the back of the boards, I've checked the continuity of the ribbon cable. I've checked voltages with a DMM (accidentally blew up a trace on the board which I've now jumpered). Some voltages were a bit high (20V instead of 18V and 14V instead of 12V) but I don't think that would cause a speech-only problem.

I also have a Firepower that works perfectly. I swapped the speech board (but not the sound board) between the machines and switched the ROMs over. Both boards worked in FP as expected but behaved the same way in BK.