• 13 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by FilthyRich
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Williams_1995_Dirty_Harry_Manual 112a.pdf (PDF preview)
Williams_1995_Dirty_Harry_Manual 148.pdf (PDF preview)
Williams_1995_Dirty_Harry_Manual 150.pdf (PDF preview)
IMG-0674 (resized).jpg
IMG-0673 (resized).jpg
#1 2 years ago

Dirty Harry ----All lamps on Row 1 AND Column 1 are out. I was told this never really happens ---either a row is out or a column is out. But in my case, both row and column 1 are out.IMG-0674 (resized).jpgIMG-0674 (resized).jpg

When I lifted the playfield I found one connector that was melted (burned) through at the edge. See pic. I am thinking this means there is a short somewhere. Maybe that caused some issues elsewhere.IMG-0673 (resized).jpgIMG-0673 (resized).jpg

I am a novice ---so looking for some advice on where i should check first, second, etc.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

#2 2 years ago

First, figure out where all the wires on your connector #6 go.

It looks like the red wire is the one that melted - look closely at every component (switch, coil, lamp, circuit board) that wire feeds or is fed from.

Next thing to do is verify all your fuses are of the correct value. That thing burned for quite awhile.

Plan on replacing that connector and the pins in the connector AND the ones that the connector connects to.

From the snippet of the schematic, I can’t tell if the red wire is attached to the lamp matrix.

Work one problem at a time. Find the short first, repair it, verify fuses are correct, then look for lamp issues.

Others will chime in with advice, chose what you’re the most comfortable with and let us know progress.

#3 2 years ago

What’s the history before discovering the burnt connector? Was it working fine, and just quit? Or was any maintenance done previous to the column/row issue?