8 years ago

Topic Stats

• 3 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by Mocean
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 8 years ago

I've been working on a total re-theme project over the past year (Demo Man) and have been investigating pinball controllers and other hardware mods that enhance an old pin. I am primarily a visual artist and don't really have a lot of experience programming but this is the perfect way for me to learn a few things. I have in mind that the PROC and pinsound and led OCD and whatever else could all be put onto one board and be programmed on one application. Is this a foolish assumption? There seems to be a market for this sort of thing out there as a all inclusive homebrew pinball platform. Or how about a programmable SAM board?

#2 8 years ago

The downside to that is when that board fails. It will mean you need to be capable of board-level repair, pay someone who is or replace the entire, probably expensive, board. Modular design limits that risk. You can, or will "soon" be able to, program on one platform wit Mission Pinball's framework. They support P-ROC and FAST hardware with controllers, drivers and lamp/LED capability along with new support for the Fade Candy LED board.

#3 8 years ago

The P-ROC board will provide you with a clean slate and if you go that route you will have the ability to change everything including the sounds and light shows and, as such, you would not need the pinsound or led ocd boards. Again, to be clear, you do not need those other two if you have a p-roc!

The p-roc connects directly to any WPC machine (pre-fliptronics through wpc-95) replacing the MPU and interfacing directly to the switch matrix, dmd, and existing driver boards in that architecture.