• 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by bdPinball
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_6192 (resized).JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider bdPinball.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 6 years ago

My Alien Poker does this random tilt thing - I'm pretty sure it's not a REAL tilt. You don't hear any of the usual "Awws" before it does this. It's just WHAM! "You Fold." and end of ball. This seems to happen when the game is warm.

I REPLACED BOTH SIDES OF THE 40 PIN INTERCONNECT -- As I knew several of you would ask if I did it. Sorry, Just a little testy about this as I spent the better part of an hour doing it, and pretty quickly after I started playing, it did it again. Hmm.. The game wasn't hot at that point, since I had the game off for that period of time while I was replacing them.

One thing I did notice, is that the driver board has several of those huge resisters along the right side of the board that seem to have gotten very hot. The bands have melted, or somehow shifted, and slid together on some of them. There is also noticable brown discoloration on the back of the the board in that same area. I've seen those do this before on several games, but never seen it cause these random tilts.

It seems like it could almost be a switch matrix problem, but it happens at the strangest times. I've never been good at switch matrix issues, so I guess I'm praying that isn't the cuprit here. Maybe it's something like a secret Heh, or one of the decoder chips on the driver board?

I could speculate all day, but my shotgun approaches rarely do much for the problems they're trying to solve. Anyone?

-Brian

#5 6 years ago