(Topic ID: 236729)

Advice on "International Transfer" as payment.

By gjm

5 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 15 posts
  • 10 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by rotordave
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 5 years ago

A fellow Pinsider wants to buy some parts from me. I live in SC and he lives in Australia. He has a "verified account" but has zero stats on his page and is listed as"unknown" as to where he lives. He gave me some kind of an address from Australia so I can get a shipping quote. I asked, if the numbers all work out, how do you plan on paying and he said "International Transfer". Since I have never used this before, I was curious if anyone has and what their opinion is on using it.
    In all fairness to the potential buyer he did state that's how he would pay unless I had a better idea.

#2 5 years ago

Personally, I would avoid the transaction, especially with a member with no history on the site.

Could you send the username to me via PM?

#3 5 years ago

I have done this twice now when purchasing pins from the US on a few occasions now (distance was too far to drive, thus I arranged payment via bank transfer and subsequently had the pin shipped). You will end up having to provide him some financial institution numbers that you'll have to get from your bank. As far as I know, it's all legit, and once the funds are deposited into your account there is no risk on your end.

#4 5 years ago
    Quoted from Bigbossfan:

I have done this twice now when purchasing pins from the US on a few occasions now (distance was too far to drive, thus I arranged payment via bank transfer and subsequently had the pin shipped). You will end up having to provide him some financial institution numbers that you'll have to get from your bank. As far as I know, it's all legit, and once the funds are deposited into your account there is no risk on your end.