Topic Stats

• 32 posts
  • 20 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 months ago by Calipindave
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 5 months ago

Hello! I’m new to the hobby but am looking into getting a second pin probably just after New Years. I’m a LOTR nut, and love the look of that game. I have yet to play it and intend to do so in the near future.

However, I’m a pragmatist as well. I could also pick up a new or slightly used stern pro for a lot less than a 15yo game. My wife and kids would also be playing and I want to avoid something over complicated and boring. We’ve all had fun playing several of these machines out in the wild.

My budget will be right around 5-6K.

Any advice?

Thanks!

#2 5 months ago

Metallica!!!!

#3 5 months ago

Since you are a LOTR fan I would just get LOTR since it’s in your budget and an outstanding game. Theme goes a long way if you love it.

#4 5 months ago

Save your money and research. Playing multiple pins multiple times is best. I live in a hole (no pins close). Watch YouTube. Do research. Don’t rush. This is a big purchase. Have fun. Then, pull the trigger. You won’t regret jumping in.

#5 5 months ago

Well I just put an LOTR on the classified and it is right in your budget

Dave

#6 5 months ago
Quoted from Calipindave:

Well I just put an LOTR on the classified and it is right in your budget
Dave

It’s beautiful. I hope for your sake it isn’t around until the New Years, but if it is, I’ll probably be in touch!

#7 5 months ago

In spite of its age, LOTR is plenty deep for a small collection even if you are a better than average player. You certainly should try to play any game before you buy it, but you're relatively safe with LOTR as its price is pretty stable so if you do decide to sell it you'll probably get your money back out of it more or less.