Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by Gunnut40
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 4 years ago

I am not a qualified electrician, and I'm assuming the answer is "no", but would it be possible/practical to DIY a service outlet into a Spooky machine? In my Alice Cooper's Nightmare Castle there are switched phase and neutral wires coming out of the power supply to figure-8 cable (for a small 12VDC(?) power supply). Those wires could be connected to a surface-mount electrical outlet, and a ground wire could be run to the back of the IEC socket. Plug in a multiboard, internally power the PinStadiums, something, PROFIT!

File under #WhatsTheWorstThatCouldHappen

#2 4 years ago

For the TNA shooter meter I am using a figure 8 splitter to add a 5v power supply next to the amplifier 12v. Cheap, easy, and loads of power. I was looking for something to create a similar outlet but then you're messing with mains power. A splitter was as far as I wanted to go.

#3 4 years ago

Yea, a figure-8 splitter would be an easy fix, but one of the Pinstadium power supplies uses the earth pin.

I found some low-voltage plugs & sockets that fit those power supplies, so for the time being I'll power them externally and run low voltage wire in underneath the backbox.

#4 4 years ago

Other pinball machine manufacturers include a service outlet in their machines. Why doesn't Spooky include this essential item in their machines?

#5 4 years ago
    Quoted from KenLayton:

Other pinball machine manufacturers include a service outlet in their machines. Why doesn't Spooky include this essential item in their machines?

Do other manufacturers do it on export machines ? OP isn't in the USA.

LTG : )

#6 4 years ago
    Quoted from LTG:

Do other manufacturers do it on export machines ? OP isn't in the USA.
    LTG : )