“What Version is the Best to use?”

• L-3 GOLD 16 votes
    57%
  • L-5 Standard 12 votes
    43%

(28 votes)

#1 9 years ago

Hey Everyone!
Not sure if this is the place to ask, or if this even is allowed to ask. But I'm in the process of getting my very first pinball machine, The Addams Family, and I can't wait. In the mean time I've been doing some research and looks like there are several rom revisions. I first stumbled upon this on eBay where people are selling EPROM's with the ROMs on them. What's weird is I see someone list the L-3 as the latest version and another seller listing the L-5 as the latest.

So which one is the latest? The only difference between the two I can tell from the listing, is that the L-3 seller say "Addams Family GOLD" in his description, so it seems obvious thats the difference. That the L-3 may be the latest revision of the GOLD machine, and the L-5 latest for standard. But I'm completely new to this so I didn't just want to assume. Also I saw mentioned on the listings, that the ROM is written to a 4Mbit eprom. If I was to do the write code myself to a ERPOM, what chip should I get for this as well as the sound chips?

And my last question is, which version is better to use and why? the GOLD L-3 or Standard L-5?

Thanks everyone!!
~John

#2 9 years ago

According to ipdb, L-3 is indeed the latest Gold edition, and L-7 is the latest standard edition. Here you can see the revision history for each:

http://mirror2.ipdb.org/files/20/Bally_1992_The_Addams_Family_Game_ROM_History.txt

http://mirror2.ipdb.org/files/21/Bally_1994_The_Addams_Family_Special_Collectors_Edition_Game_ROM_History.txt

#3 9 years ago

The gold edition adds more gameplay features and modes to it and can be used on the standard pin as well. Great pin and congrats on your first purchase. It's a good one. I heard of the L3 version (which is the one I have) and I never heard of the other one, but I could be wrong.

#5 9 years ago