• 19 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 days ago by NPO
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 9 days ago

Hi All!
I'm from Australia and I'm new to the pinball world and to start last week I bought an Addams Family pinball that do not work (life is not good without challenges

I know a bit of electronic and I read few post here and there about pinball problems troubleshooting so I spent the last few days to try to figure out what it's going on. Now I'm after some suggestion because I'm stuck.

Pinball : Addams Family 1992 with 1994 gold eproms

Problems: Flash lights/solenoids/the vault and things do not work.
Things that works: Music/display/flippers works/ illumination lights
Self Diagnosis: all the LED on the boards are working as per manual. The initial test do not report any issue
Test: If I run the test from the menu on the flash/solenoids/vault or thing nothing happen (coin door open or closed)
Fuse: I checked all fuses and they are all good

I measure the voltage on J114 and I have 74-74-74-#-22-22 volts.
I measured the voltage on the solenoids and I have 73 volts each side
I quickly put to ground the transistors "head" and the solenoids work
4 of the 5 Transistors with the big heat sink on the power drive board get quite hot. Is it normal?

at this point the below could be possible root causes :

1) All transistors on the Power board are gone (unlikely)
2) all 74374 are gone
3) the CPU board do not send the signal to the 74374

I removed the board and I had a look to the pins soldering it looks all original but I was surprise because the quality is very poor

Anyone had this problem before? what should I do ?

I'm thinking to go over the pins soldering that do not look good but how can I check if the CPU send the correct signal?

Can the Gold eprom cause this kind of problems?

thanks for your help in advance

Simon

#2 8 days ago
Quoted from ditomagico: