(Topic ID: 211305)

About to pickup my first pin and have a few dumb questions...

By Pinless

6 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 48 posts
  • 22 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by wayout440
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 6 years ago

I’m about to go and pickup a Maverick. The owner is not a pin person, and I’m new to this as well.

What’s the best way to move it? Head folded down? Or take it off? What tools do I need to take with me?

I have a truck or a 4Runner I can use to move it. There’s a slight chance of rain this afternoon so I’d prefer to use the 4R with the seats down. Plus it has a rear sliding stray that might make it easy to unload.

Also there’s no key, any issues without having it? I figured I could drill out the lock and replace it.

#2 6 years ago

Head down, legs off, all your tools.

#3 6 years ago
    Quoted from mikat11:

Head down, legs off, all your tools.

Thanks. I have a lot of tools. It would be nice to narrow it down a little. Is there a common size of leg bolts? Special tool required to lay the head down?

#4 6 years ago

There's no dumb questions on Pinside. As an absolute minimum you must remove the balls. Loose steel balls crashing around inside can easily smash vital plastics. Also, if it has a coin tray, take that out as well as any other loose items someone may have stored behind the main door. You can then open the backbox door which will usually need a key. This may well have two bolts that stop the top box from folding down to rest against the bottom playfield cabinet. Remove these and gently lower the back box down onto the cabinet and use a blanket or something else soft between them so you don't dent the side rails. Remove the legs. Tip it back so it is resting on its broad end and then if you have a sack barrow, use this with a piece of cardboard on to move it about.

Best of luck and enjoy your new hobby.

#5 6 years ago