(Topic ID: 53366)

Ablaze 3 LED work, Ablaze 1 LED don't work. Why?

By kid_ego

5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 17 posts
  • 14 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by Pac-Fan
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 5 years ago

So I bought a bunch of Ablaze bulbs from PinballLife for my Indy500.

None of the 1 LED #555s work when I swap them for regular bulbs, but when I put a 3 LED #555 in the same spot it works great.

Tried the 1 LEDs in the back box, inserts, GIs (anyplace they'd fit) with no luck.

Obviously I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff, so I'm just curious if there's something I'm missing here.

#2 5 years ago

when you speak of 3 LED bulbs are you talking about the flashers? Even though the connection looks the same they will take different voltages to operate correctly.

#3 5 years ago
Quoted from Kawydud:

when you speak of 3 LED bulbs are you talking about the flashers? Even though the connection looks the same they will take different voltages to operate correctly.

In other words, is one type of LEDs 12 volt and the other 6 volt? They are not interchangeable if that is the case.

#4 5 years ago

Some controlled lights need a more complex lamp.

Like in Gorgar, single lamps won't usually work in the pop bumpers, but the 4 chip will.

#5 5 years ago

Ablaze 1 is a single led bulb, Ablaze 3 is a three led bulb. Both of which are the same voltages. My guess will be the way they are built, possible different resistors and diodes are used.

#6 5 years ago

I think the 3 led ablazes are rectified. I know, for example, Gottlieb system threes have polarity issues on the bayonets that require a rectified bulb in about half of the sockets (unless you want to do some resoldering).

#7 5 years ago