(Topic ID: 19212)

A possible DE SW rescue mission... any ideas?

By blondetall

11 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Pred_Jung_02.gif
DESW.jpg
star-trek-002.gif
#1 11 years ago

So I just got my first pinball, and of course the fever is taking over. I don't have money to go towards another one just yet, but heard about a pin in the wild just one city over, and found it yesterday. It is a DE Star Wars, which was one of the ones on my wish list, but the poor thing has been regulated to a corner of the front window in a laundromat on the wrong side of town. The play field is literally black, R2's head didn't look straight, the cabinet is scratched to hell, and most of the lights appeared to be out. This is my first time seeing one, and it made me sad.

I thought about trying to find the owner and see if they are willing to sell, just to get it out of there so it had a chance of eventually being restored. I just thought I'd ask opinions on this before I even went down that path, since I have no clue who owns is (there are no routes or pins in this area at all.) Is this particular pin hard to find parts for? Any idea on reasonable asking price for a good working player version these days? My husband has literally 4 days of experience at this point working on pinball machines (he's been trying to figure out the ins/outs of my JP so he can fix it if needed) but is very mechanically/electronically capable, so it would be a rescue mission with a very long term goal.

I am going to try to get back to it today after work for pictures and to put in a couple of quarters to see what it even does.

#2 11 years ago

It's really all based on condition and yes any pin can be brought back to life but it all depends on what needs to be done and how much time/money will be invested in it.In this hobby Pins are always worth checking out and seeing what you can score or finding/making a great deal.