Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 months ago by PinballManiac40
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

ramloc_williamssys9 (resized).jpg

#1 11 months ago

I am about to install a 6116 NVRAM chip by pinitech into my sorcerer. I don't have an issue pulling out the old chip and installing a socket. I am an electrical engineer and do repairs on electronics all the time. My question is, which way does the NVRAM chip go into a system 9 board? What happens if you accidentally put it in backwards? It may be a stupid question, but I would rather put it in right the first time.

#2 11 months ago

I think I figured it out, the cut slot in the chip must match the picture below. Just confusing since the system 9 board is upside down in the cabinet.

ramloc_williamssys9 (resized).jpg
#3 11 months ago
Quoted from kalegarner:

I am about to install a 6116 NVRAM chip by pinitech into my sorcerer. I don't have an issue pulling out the old chip and installing a socket. I am an electrical engineer and do repairs on electronics all the time. My question is, which way does the NVRAM chip go into a system 9 board? What happens if you accidentally put it in backwards? It may be a stupid question, but I would rather put it in right the first time.

There should be a notch on the old chip. Install the notch on the socket on the same side. Electrical engineer you say? Haha

#4 11 months ago
Quoted from kermit24:

There should be a notch on the old chip. Install the notch on the socket on the same side. Electrical engineer you say? Haha

Yeah, I didn't see the notch. Now I feel stupid.

#5 11 months ago
Quoted from kalegarner:

Yeah, I didn't see the notch. Now I feel stupid.

Happy to help. Good luck with the install. Use a good vacuum type solder sucker to get the chip out.

#6 11 months ago
Quoted from kalegarner:

Yeah, I didn't see the notch.