Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by HHaase
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

gear (resized).jpg
    IMG_3931 (resized).JPG
    Space Gun Flyer (resized).jpg
    IMG_3929 (resized).JPG
    #1 7 years ago

I recently picked up a 1964 Midway Space Gun game and it turns out that a plastic sprocket that drives the main target wheel is damaged beyond repair.

Basically looks like years of use has sheared off the sharp edge that held the sprocket to the key on the end of the shaft that spins the target wheel.
    IMG_3929 (resized).JPGIMG_3929 (resized).JPG

Finding a replacement is probably beyond a needle in a haystack, so I was wondering if I could get a replacement sprocket 3D printed. Was hoping to find a place that could use the original sprocket as a base as I have no experience making the 3D digital files. One key is it would have to be made out of fairly tough plastic as it is connected to a bicycle chain.

Any experience or recommendations? Thanks!

PS - here is the flyer for the gun game
    Space Gun Flyer (resized).jpgSpace Gun Flyer (resized).jpg

#2 7 years ago

This guy is amazing - https://www.3dhubs.com/service/ara3d

You might find someone in your area on that site also.

#3 7 years ago

Shapeways is a good 3D print service, lots of material options. Add a few Pinsiders here that can draw up.

Do a search of pinball at Shapeways

#4 7 years ago

Does that gear drive a chain? It looks like it from the shape of the teeth.

That was likely made from Nylon, which is a lot tougher than ABS and PLA (what most printers use for material), so I would pick Nylon or a metal for a suitable replacement.