Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

1676BD06-FF05-4C47-B11F-DD3F528A556D.jpeg
D0FCF623-E98A-4632-AB47-6D6BDCF8589F.jpeg
2E2A22E6-A7CA-4BA9-9272-BF77B0BCEA34 (resized).jpeg
DCDB6A83-36D5-4B56-9BB3-3E957B2F76FE.jpeg
#1 3 years ago

I have a 1979 Flash pin that I acquired and am in the process of getting it up and running. I’m new to the whole pinball thing so please bear with me.

I currently have all four circuit boards out to be repaired/upgraded. While I am waiting I’d like to start cleaning and waxing the playfield.

I’ve read a ton of posts regarding this subject and I’ve what I’ve garnered so far is to use Naptha, maybe some Novus 1, and a good carnuba paste wax.

The playfield appears to be in generally good condition for its age. There are a few isolated spots where some paint has been lost. Mostly around the ring of numbers just above the flippers as you can see in the photo I attached.

I am not trying to create a museum piece but I’d like to preserve what is left.

Please let me know the best way to proceed on a pin of this era.

Thank you!!!
DCDB6A83-36D5-4B56-9BB3-3E957B2F76FE.jpegDCDB6A83-36D5-4B56-9BB3-3E957B2F76FE.jpeg

#2 3 years ago

Clean it then polish the playfield with Novus 2. Good wax after that. Novus 1 is really only good for buffing up plastics.

#3 3 years ago
Quoted from jgreene:

Clean it then polish the playfield with Novus 2. Good wax after that. Novus 1 is really only good for buffing up plastics.

Thanks! I read so many differing opinions on another lengthy post my brain was spinning.

Given that things have evolved over years I was wondering if there is a specific regime so this era of machines.

#4 3 years ago
Quoted from Stephan28:

I read so many differing opinions on another lengthy post my brain was spinning.

Put 10 pinheads in a room and ask them their wax/playfield cleaning opinions, and you will get 11 opinions back. (One person will change their mind mid-way through....)