Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by honaker22
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 9 years ago

Hello! First let me start by saying that I am extremely new to pinball repair. My wife purchased a fireball home edition for me for Christmas for about $400. Everything worked ok, it just needed some minor repair (new bulbs, flippers, rubber bands, etc.). I attempted to change out the right flipper coil as that flipper was a little weak as was the outhole kicker. This didn't seem to fix the flipper issue so I put the original coil back on. I read somewhere later that the end of stroke switch may need some adjusting so I did and the flipper works great! When I powered on the machine later, the outhole kicker energized but didn't release so I had to turn it off and disconnect the wires from the outhole coil. The game works perfect if this is not connected but as soon as I connect the wires to the outhole kicker coil, it will remain energized until I unplug it again. I don't know much about the schematics, was hoping someone would be able to point me in the right direction to get this back on track. Thanks in advance!

#2 9 years ago

Don't know a lot aboot this era fixes, but newer machines with stuck coils usually a bad transistor.
Anyone else know?

EDIT: First thing is to look real close at the wires going to that coil and making sure there isn;t a short somewhere. All it takes is a little bit of that wire to be touching some metal some where and tht can cause this issue.

#3 9 years ago