IMG_2507 (resized).jpeg
IMG_2477 (resized).jpeg
IMG_2502 (resized).jpeg
IMG_2474 (resized).jpeg
IMG_2420 (resized).jpeg
IMG_2484 (resized).jpeg
#1 1 year ago

Hello all,

I recently picked up a project 1975 Gottlieb El Dorado wedge head that a customer would like to have restored. This is the first EM machine that I have to repair to get it working. My two prior EM games worked perfect and never needed repairs! Solid state games are no problem for me, but I have very little experience with EM machines. I have done some homework by watching a few EM basics on YouTube, but I will need help from the experts here for sure! The game is complete as far as I can tell. The machine had no manual in it and see I have to order one from PR now instead of downloading the file at IPDB.

First, I would like to get the game to at least start and try to work before I start tearing everything apart. As of now, when the game is powered on, the playfield and backbox lights come on, but that’s it. The score motor does not move nor does anything else. I have tried to make sure no tilt/slam switches were stuck closed, the fuses are good and the fuse holders have continuity. I tried adding credits, pushing the start button, but nothing. I also made sure all of the coils were moving somewhat freely.

Second, I would appreciate any ideas for repairing the front of the cabinet. The game overall is decent, but the front looks bad with the missing layers of plywood... Also the game has lots of rust everywhere!!! Looks like the coin door was painted??? LOL! See pics! It’s going to take a bit to get this one completed.

Appreciate any and all help!

Thanks!

Rob