Topic Stats

• 4 posts
  • 2 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by bigphxguy
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 4 years ago

I'm fairly new at troubleshooting this EM pin, so forgive me if I don't use the proper nomenclature.

My Big Ben works perfectly when I first turn it on and for about 10-15 minutes of play. Then it begins misbehaving. It seems that once the machine heats up, the B-I-G lights will all reset/light up in the middle of play when a 50 score is registered. I can roll over any of the B-I-G letters so the light turns off, but once I score a 50 they all light up again. It makes it impossible to reach the bonus. Any suggestions on where I should start my troubleshooting? Thanks in advance.

#2 4 years ago

Push the score motor by hand. Once it leaves the home position it will rotate by itself to find home again. See if it does this when you do that.

I suspect your issue is manifesting itself every time the score motor runs, and is not directly linked to the 50 points action. I've had that happen a few times with different features on different games. It needs the motor to run to manifest the problem. Rolling over the B-I-G letters does not run the motor, nor does any 10 point scoring, etc., so those don't let the problem show itself. But 50 points does run the motor!

The 50 points is likely not directly related and is just the thing that happens to run the motor the most. (Big Ben is pretty plain, 50 points may be the sole thing to run the motor DURING GAMEPLAY)

Run it by hand (push it with your finger gently - it doesn't take much to push it off home - you are not trying to rotate it all the way yourself, you are trying to get it to re-home itself with a gentle get-going push off of home) and it should do the same thing, and then you can eliminate any blame on the 50 points circuit.