You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

score reel stop (resized).jpg
score reel (resized).jpg
#1 1 year ago

Hi All!

I've been going through and cleaning up the score reels as they didn't like resetting. I have been following the below guide, and have found it to be very intuitive and didn't really have any issues disassembling, reassembling or anything. What I am seeing is that the reels still don't want to reset from 9 to 0 very easily, and sometimes even have issues from 8 to 9. My initial thought is springs, but I don't wanna waste a trip to the hardware store if that's maybe not the case. Everything seems to slide pretty smoothly, but once it gets to the higher numbers, it just seems sluggish and I can't understand why.

Any insight would help, I'm rather new to EMs still and am determined to get to know them, despite their fickle behaviors

Guide I've been following: https://homepinballrepair.com/em-score-reels-gottlieb/

#2 1 year ago

As long as you don't have too much friction from the parts that are actually sliding along the metal frame, the problem going from 9 to 0 is usually that the switches that are all activated by the plastic armature are providing too much pressure against it. That armature slides along one edge of the rotating plastic score reel that is shaped so that it moves the armature in and out. At the 9 position, the plastic edge is pushing hardest against that armature and the switches, pushing them away from the score reel.

score reel (resized).jpgscore reel (resized).jpg

I'll sometimes put a little bead of superlube along that score reel edge that the armature rides on to help things along, but it's mostly a matter of making sure the switches don't have too much "bias" (or bend) pushing the armature toward the score reel.