IMG_2599.JPG
IMG_2596.JPG
IMG_2597.JPG
IMG_2598.JPG
IMG_2492.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg
IMG_2497.JPG
#1 9 years ago

I have had this machine and it has worked well forever. Recently had a blown fuse and I believe that a stuck pop bper is the reason.

The left pop bumper coil appears burnt and is permanently retracted, holding open a switch. Whenever I manually hit the skirt, the pinball machine shorts and turns off.

Obviously this coil needs replaced, but I am not sure if there are other areas I should check before ordering replacement parts. i have metered across the coil to see if it is being powered all the time and that does not appear to be the case, I think it is just jammed retracted.

I am new to working on the machine so any thoughts are appreciated. Still trying to learn how to read the circuit.

Thanks, Sean

#2 9 years ago

Pics of good coil, bad coil and circuit

IMG_2497.JPGIMG_2497.JPG FullSizeRender.jpgFullSizeRender.jpg IMG_2492.JPGIMG_2492.JPG
#3 9 years ago

it is toasted, get a new coil and sleeve and you should be back in business

#4 9 years ago

What Boilerman said. Replace it.

It is probably shorted internally, instead of disipating the current draw, which is why it blows the fuse.

Be ready to track down the reason it stuck on. This did not just happen by chance. There will be a switch stuck somewhere that kept this energized which caused it to burn up.

#5 9 years ago

The right pop should be on the same circuit and operates normally. Although when right pop is activated the machine kicks power off, i assume this has to do with the failed left pop.

If a switch were holding it closed, wouldnt it also be holding the right pop closed?

#6 9 years ago

The Right and Left pop bumpers are both controlled by the D relay, however by separate switches on D.

D is activated if either the Right or Left pop bumper spoon switches closes.