You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_4464 (resized).JPG
IMG_4462 (resized).JPG
IMG_4465 (resized).JPG
#1 3 years ago

Hi all. I greatly appreciate any help that you can give me. I'm not an expert but am learning and can fix some stuff. So I brought this machine back from the dead and have everything working except for one red pop bumper (lower left on schematic) which scores fine from the spoon switch but won't pop (Note - there are 2 reds that fire together in series that are the upper right and lower left in the schematic). There are also 2 greens upper left and lower right. I'll try to make the issue clear.

I found 2 problems: 1) broken e.o.s. blade on the right side green pop bumper which I fixed/replaced.
2) The e.o.s. (or what the schematic calls "lock switch") contacts on the reds are OPEN but SHOULD BE CLOSED. However, when I close them
and start a game and hit either red bumper the upper right will pop and lock on/freeze/buzz. All the coils seem fine with a multimeter but
I have not been able to get the lower left to pop, so I am questioning the coil there.

Before I remove that coil and test/re-solder/replace it I'm wondering about the THIN GRAY WIRE that connects the lower left bumper coil lug to the Number 1 bumper relay...the gray wire then continues over to the Number 2 bumper relay. FYI - the red bumpers feed to the No. 1 bumper relay and the green to No. 2 relay.

IS THAT GRAY WIRE FROM LOWER LEFT RED POP BUMPER COIL LUG TO NUMBER 1 COIL RELAY SUPPOSED TO BE THERE? ...did somebody jump that to try to fix a problem? I'm hoping that the answer is easy for the experts here. I know that manufacturers are different but my 1964 Ship Mates has a similar 4 pop bumper layout (2 and 2) but doesn't have that extra wire from a pop coil lug to a pop relay.