(Topic ID: 249481)

1955 Shuffle Bowler Stopped Working - Can You Help?

By dszil

4 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 11 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by Mopar
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

28F03DFE-4C39-4D0F-B1A5-5546D027B934 (resized).jpeg
    4813895B-277A-4B08-AD38-CEAF4B1F6DFF (resized).jpeg
    88ACAC8B-5B97-41A1-8000-BA5281947F7F (resized).jpeg
    45F50A9F-9605-4237-BF43-2FF0942DAB21 (resized).jpeg

#1 4 years ago

Hi all.

I’m pretty new to all of this so I’ll do my best to explain using my limited EM Vocabulary...

I picked up a 1955 Chicago Coin Shuffle Bowler in January. It’s my first EM machine (no experience with non-em either). I managed to get it working by cleaning a few stepper units, messing with the gap on a few switches etc and all was well until this weekend.

I believe I’ve narrowed down the issue but am stuck on how to address...

The ‘1st Shot’ switch on the reset bank (?) barely moves up and down. If I use my nail to push down on the disk with the catch below the rest (sorry, not sure what that’s called) they spring up smoothly and the game reacts. If I do so on the ‘1st Shot’ one, it doesn’t move at all.

I can trigger a back row switch under the pins and see that the disk drops down and disengages the catch, but that’s it. No springing up movement at all. This makes me think it’s friction vs electric?

I can manually slide it up and down but only with a fair amount of a grinding sound and a fair amount of resistance. Again, seems like friction?

The grinding is coming from the spot where 1” or so on each side slides through two small channels in the lower support bar.

With or without the spring, same behavior.