Barenaked Ladies 'Silverball' - exclusive Pinside sneak preview!

Barenaked Ladies 'Silverball' - exclusive Pinside sneak preview!

By robin

May 01, 2015


3 years ago

Back in October last year, when I had the opportunity to visit the Stern Pinball factory and meet the cool likes of Steve Ritchie, John Borg, George Gomez, Lyman Sheats, Lonnie Ropp and many more, I bumped into someone I did not expect. None other than Barenaked Ladies frontman Ed Robertson, who was there to pick up a brand new pinball machine.

"Huh?", I thought, "Ed Robertson plays pinball?" You bet! It turns out he does not only occasionally like a game of pinball but apparently has a pretty cool basement gameroom and is heavily absorbed in collecting, repairing, modding and of course playing pinball!

Well it just so happens that Pinside was built with quite a lot of Barenaked tunes playing in the background so I was naturally pleased to meet Ed and even more so to learn that he's actually a very active Pinside forum member! Cool!

A couple of months ago, Ed sent me a PM that the new Barenaked Ladies album was going to be pinball-themed, titled "Silverball" and that he wanted to give Pinside an exclusive sneak preview, as a thank you to the Pinside community for all the tech help, info and general pinball goodness provided.

The artwork is all pinball inspired, can you spot which game this back cover art was inspired by?

Long story short, he asked me to post the following note:

The band have recorded this special video for Pinside, it's also the premiere of their track "Silverball": a Pinside exclusive! Check it out!

If you like this song, “Silverball” by Barenaked Ladies, it will be available as an instant grat download on May 5th when you pre-order the album at itunes: http://smarturl.it/BNLSilverball. Full album to be released June 2, 2015

Special thanks to Ed Robertson / Barenaked Ladies!

Story photos

SILVERBALL-20150430-194855338-957.jpeg
final cover jpg.jpg
back cover final.jpg


Comments

3 years ago
Wow, what an awesome song - pretty surreal video and lyrics - it's pinball!
3 years ago
Though I've never been a fan of this band, this song is MUCH better than Pinball Wizard which I'm so sick of hearing. Good on Ed Robertson to, probably, tell his agents and producers something like "I don't care what you think. I want to write a song about my passion, pinball...and make it the title song on my next album." Just guessing but seems that wouldn't be far from the truth.
3 years ago
tooo cool! Awesome song and video!
3 years ago
What a perfect mix BareNaked Ladies and Pinball. A huge fan of both!!
3 years ago
Ed is an awesome guy! He hung out with us in New Orleans at the PinChurch. We're looking forward to seeing him and the band again, and trying to plan a special show where they perform in the arcade and we stream it live. Stay tuned for details on that.
3 years ago
As if I needed another reason to FREAKIN' LOVE the Barenaked Ladies. This made my week. That's so cool of them to do this for the pinball community!! I love the song too!!!!
3 years ago
Verrrry cool! Been a fan since their first album and saw them on their first U.S. tour opening for Stephen Stills in Avila Beach, Ca. (and each subsequent tour.) Great song.... Looking forward to the new album and upcoming tour with Colin Hay and Violent Femmes.
3 years ago
I have a multi-platinum RIAA award from the Bare Naked Ladies in my office. I often joke with people that the only reason it sold so well, are the nudie photos in the liner notes. If they say "Really??", then I offer them a tip on some hot penny stocks.
3 years ago
I love how as I watch the video I'm scoping out his machines as to what mods / toppers e.t.c. they have, hehe.
3 years ago
Most cool! This album goes into the collection! (the video too!)
3 years ago
I was a little worried when I heard this was going to be a love song but I really dig it! I predict this one will be a big hit! Cool to see Ed's game room and love that the entire video was taken in it :) Great job guys. FINALLY a new and modern pinball song!
3 years ago
awesome! Thanks, Ed!
3 years ago
Awesome, always loved BNL, always will. I Love all the songs, especially about Toronto. Of course, lol, Im Canadian and lived in Toronto for quite a while, so Im biased, but this is a great addition to the tradition of great songs. Way to go BNL, Ill be at the front of the line for the new album.
3 years ago
This is so awesome. So glad to hear about Ed's love for the game!
3 years ago
Bravo! Great story, song, video, and Pinside member. Thanks, Ed! (And you too, robin!)
3 years ago
"If I had a million dollars, if I had a million dollars.. I'd buy you a bunch of pinball machines"

I can finally purge the Who from my brain, way to go BNL!
3 years ago
AWESOME!
3 years ago
Wow...color me impressed! Not just with the song, which was wonderful to hear *and* to decipher the lyrics of (what...no slingshot, rebound, or backhand references? NEED MORE LYRICS!!!! ;) ), but that collection made me jealous, too! He's definitely one of us for sure.
3 years ago
Incredible. I love these guys and I love pinball. So cool. Ed, when you guys come to Boise, please come play my Indiana Jones and Star Wars pins if you want to. Or my Pinbot and Star Trek the Next Generation at my office!
3 years ago
thanks to the band and robin for sharing this. it's great to see things like this to help bring our "hobby" into the mainstream :)
3 years ago
That's just freeking awesome, way to give back BNL!
3 years ago
Best pinball themed song since Pinball Lez by Custard https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdDMAh3ySOE
3 years ago
Awesome video! Thanks for the Pinside love, Barenaked Ladies!
3 years ago
This story made me just find out when they are touring and buy myself a ticket! I want to support any artists that are into Pinball! (sidenote: I heard that Ryan Adams loves Pinball as well.) Going to see the Ladies this summer in St. Augustine, FL. Thanks for making this song/album.
3 years ago
Excellent tribute!
3 years ago
Love it. Cant wait to see them 6/5/15 in Columbus, Ohio. Way to go guys!
3 years ago
Beauty! Ed--if you want to play in Edmonton on your upcoming tour, Denizen Hall is the place to go! It's right downtown!
3 years ago
Oh yes...a BNL-theme pin would be great too! "If I had a million points, I'd buy you a Slurpee".
3 years ago
NOW we need ED to go to Gary Stern and start working on the Big Bang Theory-PIN!!
3 years ago
OMG so awesome! My wife and I have seen BNL 5 times so far and plan on seeing them again this summer! I never knew that he was into pinball too. Thank you for sharing and love the new song!
3 years ago
Got the chance to hang out with Ed and Tyler at The Happy Dog in Cleveland prior to their show on Saturday. They were totally rad and Ed hooked My friend and I up with 4 tickets to their show!! Pinball Junkies who like to get Funky. Awesome!
3 years ago
Way to go BNL ! Keep the good tunes coming, nice collection BTW.
Stop in at Rocco's Pizza for some award winning pizza and some pinball action !
Located in Little Canada, MN ...eh
P.S. I really enjoyed the "Last Summer on earth" concert with Blues Traveler, Cracker, and BNL at the Minnesota zoo.
Cheers,
Ed
3 years ago
I just saw the BNL and Violent Femmes show at the Mohegan Sun - I couldn't believe how awesome it was!!! Had a total blast!

Go out and see them if you get the chance! You won't be disappointed!
3 years ago
Congrats Melinda, on the BNL shoutout!
3 years ago
getting me all mushy thanx
3 years ago
They need to make room for Steven Page because he will be back.

Add a comment

Wanna make a comment? Click here to sign in or register.