TZ and IJ (LED or no?)

Started 1 year ago by rai in forum All PinballAll Pinball.

Forum » All Pinball » Topic

TZ and IJ (LED or no?)

Topic summary

• Started 1 year ago by rai
  • 13 Pinsiders participating in this thread.
  • Latest reply from PT

Tilts/ ignores / abuse

Sharing and favs

Games linked to topic

Help us build a pinball game knowledge base by linking topics to the games discussed in them!

1 year, 10 months ago
    #

I am going to have my pins shopped with new components all throughout. I was also going to do a mod or two while I'm at it.

My question is, with these old machines what are the pros and cons of LEDs?

Is it a good idea to do selective LEDs, all LEDs or no LEDs? I read some older pins can have issues with ghosting with leds, but I am not sure if that is a big issue or not.

I am new to LEDs, never have seen any in action so I was curious if people think they are worth the cost, in particular for both TZ and IJ.

Is one pin or the other better for LED treatment?

-

Also what is the best mod of TZ or IJ. I already have TZ rocket, gumballs, and piano mod.

I was thinking the slot machine light.

1 year, 10 months ago
    #

Well from personal experience, I put superbrites throughout my TZ and have zero ghosting issues. In my opinion it looks fantastic with LEDs but I'm biased.

1 year, 10 months ago
    #

I have CT Supers in my IJ and think they look perfect. I had some ghosting issues but didn't once I installed the non ghosting patch. At any rate their non-ghosting supers will fix those few inserts which may ghost. I can send you the patched ROM and you can have someone burn it to a chip.

By far most of the inserts look best with warm whites IMO. I put WWs under the INDY, ADVENTURE, yellow, 5 characters and any of the mode inserts with white in them. That left very few which needed colors. I also used WWs in the backbox. This is one game where you can buy the 100ct bulk purchase and use them all.

1 year, 10 months ago
    #