To shake or not to shake

By Grinder901

10 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 10 years ago

So just saw the thread about shaker motors being sold and so I ask the collective: Do shakers make a pin better? I am new to this world. I just paid for an IM and a SST. Both are about to be shipped to me. So a shaker motor does just what it says? Makes the machine shake? Is this a mod I should invest in? Your thoughts and experiences are welcomed.

#2 10 years ago

So SST wont out of the box have the option to have a shaker in, you would have to tie it in to a flasher or something.

I'm Pretty sure Iron Man is setup and wired for a shaker. A shaker adds a bit of vibration to the game only in certain modes, for me it makes getting to that mode or feature that much more fun.

JJ

#3 10 years ago

Yes, a shaker motor basically just makes the machine shake. Whether or not you like it is really a matter of personal preference. There are a few games where they came factory and and are integrated well (Earthshaker comes to mind) where I don't mind them, but in general I find them really unnecessary and annoying. Others love them. Your best bet is probably to try and find a game on location or at a fellow collectors house that has one and see if you like the effect.

#4 10 years ago

Yea there in lies the problem. I live near Memphis, TN. Not too many collectors or players around here. I'm going to that Nashville auction in May so I'm sure I'm get a chance to experience plenty of them.

#5 10 years ago

Maybe Try one, then if you don't like it in IM then move it to another Stern when you get one.

JJ

#6 10 years ago

I would say there are more Collectors near you than you think. I personally love shaker motors, especially when the game was designed for them. There are a few others that have aftermarket solutions that are also integrated nicely (MM,STTNG,AFM) So I would definitely buy one for IM, SST I wouldnt.

#7 10 years ago