Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 17 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by Drano
  • Topic is favorited by 6 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Orb_Touched_Up.JPG
    Orb_Wear.JPG
    Tiger_Loop_Touched_Up.JPG
    Tiger_Loop_Wear.JPG
    Bazaar_Touch_Up.JPG
    Bazaar_Touch_Up.JPG
    Bazar_Damage.JPG
    Insert_Damage.jpg
    #1 11 years ago

So I recently purchased my first pin and learned a valuable lesson: Never buy your first pin sight unseen unless it's NIB.

First pic shows the Bazaar scoop which had three layers of mylar with a slightly offcenter overlay that was severely interferring with ball play. I removed the mylar using a hairdryer and goo gone. Some of the inserts and PF art pulled up, but what was hidden underneath almost made me puke (see second pic).

So I decided to touch this playfield up myself. I have ZERO experience in doing this but thought I could give it a good go.

I used acrylics to touch up the areas around the Bazaar inserts and left edge of the scoop after sanding down gobs of epoxy. Now I need to lightly sand down the acrylic layer (after a few more touchups - lower PF overlay to cover the "R" and below is on its way) and apply some type of clear over the art (and eventual insert decals when they arrive).

My question is what type of spot clear should I use? I plan on painting the clear with a brush, but I am a bit afraid of getting a cloudy finish using brush strokes. Has anyone applied clear over touchups using a brush before?

Thanks for any input.

Insert_Damage.jpgInsert_Damage.jpg Bazar_Damage.JPGBazar_Damage.JPG

#2 11 years ago

Couldn't get this image to upload in original post...

Bazaar_Touch_Up.JPGBazaar_Touch_Up.JPG

#3 11 years ago

This pin didn't happen to come from Texas did it?